Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jamey9695

New member with a few questions. Barrier failure and general info

jamey9695
16 years ago

Hello everyone,

First I want to say thank you for the wealth of information here. I have learned a lot on this forum. I have been collecting Bamboo for about 8 years now, mostly runners, some fully contained by barriers, and some controlled by rhizome pruning. I am located in Southern New Jersey, zone 7b.

First question: When I first started this fascination with Bamboo 8 years ago, I began by digging three trenches and lining them with a 40 MIL barrier. One of the trenches has Bisetti Bamboo, and it broke loose at the seems, and has also jumped the barrier at one point. Bisetti seems to be a very vigorous grower up here in 7b. I have a feeling that this was the last trench that I lined that year, and was probably running out of the double faced tape supplied with the barrier. I have the situation under control now, but need to know how to fix the barrier. I wanted to know if I should dig up around the two seems where the breaches occurred and re-tape it with a better tape, and in more places, or maybe go through the extra effort and get a clamp style seem like the one that is sold by Tradewinds. I was also wondering what happens to the rhizome after it is pruned? Does it continue to grow, or does it stop right there? If it stops, maybe it will block other rhizomes from growing past the seem and I can just dig a little and check the seems for new growth twice a year? What would you do?