Return to the Bamboo Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Vegetative Cloning

Posted by eastdallasmatt Dallas, TX (8a) (My Page) on
Thu, Apr 23, 09 at 2:40

I have a hard time spending $70 per 3 gal plant and having it shipped half way across the country, when I see bamboo all around me.

Is it possible clone bamboo by using vegetative cloning? (By taking a leaf or culm cutting, dipping it into cloning hormone, and rooting it in soil, rockwool, or perlite.)

I've read about the cloning method where you dig up the rhizome. I have some experience with acquiring cuttings from strangers, I'm afraid I might not get a warm response if I show up at someone's door with shovel asking for some of their bamboo.

I built a collection of over 100 varieties of cacti and succulents by getting cuttings from strangers, and it's a lot easier to tell someone you just need to cut off one pad or segment.

Thanks in advance for your help,
Matt

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Vegetative Cloning

Yep, I think there's a way to do it but only a few know how to. I heard that not too long ago a woman here in the PNW cracked the formula to the vegetative cloning of bamboo and well...now she's basically rich because large companies are offering her $$$ for the method.

o

are you asking about tissue culture cloning or something else. You can propagate clumping bamboos with culm cuttings because the energy for growth is stored in the nodes. You might want to search out bamboo tissue culture.

o

You have to realize that there are over 1200 varieties of bamboo out there, so the kind you purchase is likely not the kind you see growing wild or commonly grown in someone's yard.

The more rare varieties are the expensive ones. Clumpers seem to be easiest to reproduce using culm or limb cuttings, but even then, you won't have a sellable plant for up to a year, so the price can still be high.

Kt

o

• Posted by kudzu9 Zone 8b, WA (My Page) on
    Sun, Apr 26, 09 at 22:21