Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zruntalo

Golden Bamboo Rhizomes

zruntalo
10 years ago

Hi everyone,
Forgive me, for I am new to bamboo and am hoping that someone will be able to help me out with a few questions.

First off, I live in a high rise and have been looking for something to add privacy along one side of my balcony.
A friend surprised me yesterday with three Golden Bamboo Rhizomes that he ordered online. Obviously, being on a balcony, I planted these in a fairly large planter. The instructions said that if I was planting them in a pot, to set the rhizomes up vertically, leaving 2" exposed.

I've been doing a lot of research, and have not seen anything about plating rhizomes vertically. I am also concerned about the exposed roots, do I need to cut them off?

In the end, my main question is: How long should I expect to wait for these to grow. I've read it grows at an extremely fast rate, but I don't know if that includes growing from rhizomes or any other factors.

I sure hope I didn't mess anything up, because these will look beautiful when they are established. The nosy neighbors in the surrounding balconies will be jealous.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (11)

• kudzu9
    10 years ago