Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
zadal

Bamboo Prices in SF Bay Area

zadal
15 years ago

I am a newbie to Bamboo in the San Francisco Bay area. I was wondering where is the right place around here that I can get affordable bamboo. I am looking for ornamental kind - allgold ( yellow )and nigra ( black ). I saw 5 gallon at Summerwind nursery for $69, which is way over my budget. And why is the bamboo so expensive? I thought people said the running bamboo are invasive, in that case, they should be very cheap.

Thanks for your tips.

Comments (7)

• kudzu9
    15 years ago

That's a little pricey, but not out of line. The reason bamboo is expensive is that it's not typically grown from seed. It's divided in the field and then potted up and stabilized, and conscientious growers may hold on to the plant for at least 6 months to be sure it's going to make it. If you have a limited budget, you should see if you can dig some for free from a yard that is looking like its bamboo is getting out of control. This is hard work, but cheap! You could also put a "Wanted" post on Freecycle and see who has bamboo available to share or to dig.

• daveh_sf
    15 years ago

You might try:
    Terra Viridis Nursery in El Sobrante (by appointment only)
    http://www.tvnursery.com/
    Strybing Arboretum's big May sale May 1 (members) and May 2
    http://www.sfbotanicalgarden.org/
    Bamboo Sourcery in Sebastopol
    http://www.bamboosourcery.com/

• zadal
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thank you for your recommendation and advise.

The most common / affordable bamboo that I see is at Home Depot and Lowes. They only have one kind - Golden Bamboo, which is known to be invasive.