Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
poaky1

Can anyone share Fargesia robusta- will pay

poaky1
12 years ago

I am new to bamboo, but think I know what I want. I like the ( CLUMPING) Fargesia robusta "Campbell". Does anyone have this or a clumping bamboo that has a similar appearance? I will pay for a peice of root or rhizome.

Comments (16)

• poaky1
    Original Author
    12 years ago

To clarify what I mean, I'll add if someone gives me one rhizome or root, I will give $2 or $3. I hope that's fair. I ordered some seeds on ebay too. It's a Fargesia yunna-something. I also wondered about the Giant reed grass. I can always order them, but they are pricey.

• MiaOKC
    12 years ago

I don't have the clumping bamboo you are looking for, but if you mean arundo donax for giant reed grass we have tons invading from the neighbor's yard. It's very invasive - not sure if that's what you would want since you are looking at a clumping bamboo... What state are you in?

• poaky1
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I am in SW Pa. I was looking for the Arundo Donax reed grass, however if it is greatly invasive maybe I should not plant it. I have lots of room in my yard but if it is like running bamboo I don't want to have problems. I have gotten seed from ebay for the clumping bamboo, I hope they can pretty easily be grown from seed. It is Fargesia Yunna-something, can't remember the last part of the name. Thanks for replying, I'll just forget the reedgrass.

• kudzu9
    12 years ago

poaky1-
    FYI, Arundo Donax is not like bamboo...it's far worse. Unlike bamboo it can regenerate from small pieces of root left in the ground. Once its established, you will have great difficulty in keeping it from being a hard-to-remove nuisance.

In addition, although I wish you well with your seeds, bamboo are fairly difficult to grow from seed. In addition, if you succeed, it will take in excess of 5 years before the bamboo is as tall as you...maybe longer.