Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardener1_gw

Update on Flowering P. Aureosulcata

gardener1
11 years ago

Well So far so good, Only the original culms are flowering. It looks like this will be an Isolated event. Thank The Lord. I can't wait to try the new seed. I hope its viable seed. One culm is completely loaded with seed. Its still too early to tell about the flowering though all of my shoots are still growing good. I was worried that the flowering culms would cause the new culms to abort but I think they are far enough along that they will be ok. They are extending their new branches now. So glad, I have the other 33 species to fall back on just in case. I have been growing plants for many years, but bamboo is my alltime favorite.

Comments (19)

• kudzu9
    11 years ago

gardener1-
    I hate to be a wet blanket, but, every time I have had flowering, it started with just a few culms, and then more the next year. I've even taken divisions off a large, flowering bamboo to isolate the "healthy" culms only to have them subsequently flower and die. So, don't get your hopes up quite yet. Good luck, and please keep updating.

• gardener1
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Just wishful thinking I guess. But On the bright side there are lots and lots of seed. I will keep updating.

• stevelau1911
    11 years ago

You could try germinating all of them, and perhaps get a mutation of some sort.

If you can find a different species of bamboo flowering at the same time, you might even be able to do some crossbreeding by snipping off all the pollen on the aureosulcata and perhaps adding some moso pollen to potentially get a new species of a 90ft tall bamboo that grows in cooler climates.

If 2 of my bamboos flowered simultaneously, I would be cross pollinating them, and germinating seeds like crazy.

• gardener1
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I almost wish I had another one blooming. But really one scare a year is enough for me.

• richieboo
    11 years ago