Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
troutarm

squirrels chewing moso shoots

troutarm
15 years ago

My Moso bamboo is putting up it's 3rd year shoots and the squirrels are chewing on the new shoots coming up. Is there anything I can do to prevent this?

Comments (12)

• kudzu9
    15 years ago

troutarm-
    I am a veteran of the Bamboo-Squirrel wars, and have tried many things. Once the squirrels acquire a taste for shoots (they love the sugar), and have decided they like the salad bar you are providing, you have to take strong measures. I won't bore you with all the things I've sprayed or smeared on the shoots...ultimately with limited success. The one thing that works is a physical barrier. Go to Home Depot or equivalent and buy yourself a roll of wire screening. It should have squares about 1/2" in size. The rolls are typically about 2' wide, and sometimes you can get them with a green vinyl coating. In any case, cut a piece so that you can form a cylinder a couple of inches in diameter and at least a foot high. Stand this up over any new shoot emerging from the ground. You can wire it to a nearby culm or to a stake you place in the ground next to the shoot. When the shoot gets to a foot high or so, it will have hardened off and not be appealing to the squirrels. At that point you can slip off the "armor" and enjoy your new bamboo. If you have several shoots close together, you can make a larger diameter cylinder, but just make sure you fold the wire mesh in at the top so that the squirrels can't get in that way. Good luck.

• kudzu9
    15 years ago

My condolences. You must have mutant zombie squirrels! I've never had them bother my bamboo after it gets more than a foot high and hardens off. Is there any possibility that something else (like deer) could be doing some of the damage?

• rmk3392
    15 years ago

I found the cure to the squirrel issue:

Crossman Pumpmaster 760