Return to the Bamboo Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
potting new bamboo shoots

Posted by steve-g (My Page) on
Tue, May 29, 07 at 15:20

I have a patch of bamboo growing in my yard. This spring some new shoots have surfaced in a direction I don't want the bamboo to grow. Will the new shoots (about 1-2 feet tall now and about 1-3 feet from main clump) survive if I dig them up and put them in a large pot? I'm not sure the type of bamboo but half of it grows in a zig-zag pattern.

I'm a total bamboo novice so I apologize if this issue is has been beat to death.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: potting new bamboo shoots

• Posted by kudzu9 Zone 8b, WA (My Page) on
    Tue, May 29, 07 at 16:27

If you want to kill them now, dig them up. If you want them to survive in pots, let the shoots grow up so that the culms can harden off; then wait until the plant is dormant (next winter or very early spring) and then dig up the root ball and pot. If you chop the roots right now, it's equivalent to cutting the umbilical cord months early. In the future, if you want to avoid shoots coming up where you don't want them, take a sharp shovel and chop all around the boundary you want to maintain, which will kill any rhizomes that are escaping too far. Usually this is done in the fall.

And your bamboo is probably Ph. aureosulcata. Does it look like this?

Here is a link that might be useful: Ph. aureo

o

Yes, exactly like that. Thanks for the response. I don't want kill it. I want it to grow south along my fence, but it seems to want to go east towards my house.

o

Wed, May 30, 07 at 1:02

Well, if you make the divisions as I suggested you can force it to grow south. And if you live in a moderate Zone, you wouldn't have to pot them up. You could just take the division early next spring and replant it where you want immediately. What climate Zone are you in?

o

8 I think... North Seattle (wedgwood).

o

Wed, May 30, 07 at 11:06

Steve-