Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
abnormalsanon

Bamboo newbie looking for the right type

abnormalsanon
16 years ago

Hi there! This is my first time posting here in a long time. I'm primarily an aquatic gardener so terrestrial plants are a mystery to me :)

I'm buying my first home in Philadephia, PA (cold hardiness zone 6, AHS heat zone 6-7) and planning small garden areas in the front and back areas of the house.

In the back area, I would love to plant a bank of clumping bamboo. I will already be covering the chainlink fence with bamboo cane fencing to give the yard some privacy, so I think live bamboo will complete the look nicely. I would prefer to plant two varieties: one smaller (3 feet max) and the other a bit taller (6-7 feet max). The back area gets morning sun.

In the front area, I will be using containers as this area is paved. This area gets full afternoon sun as the house faces west.

I have a few questions for you experts!

1. Are there clumping varieties that match my height requirements and can grow in the above conditions?

2. What about bamboo for large containers? Should I stick with clumping or could I use running varieties?

3. I love bamboo with variegated leaves or some color. Any suggestions?

I know you probably get these questions all the time, but I really appreciate any suggestions!

Comments (3)

• brian_k
    16 years ago

For a small boo, Pleioblastus viridistriatus works well. It also has green and yellow variegated folige. In a pot I would just plant a tropical clumper because you won't want to leave even a cold hardy boo out all winter because the pot might freeze solid. Just move the pot indoors in late october or whenever. Bambusa multiplex would be a good choice for containers. And as for the hedge in the back- you could use a fargesia species, but you would need to get a large number of them to fully screen it.