Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
theyardman_gw

Bamboo shoots growing like mad.

theyardman
15 years ago

I have had 2 small clumping bamboos for several years. However, in April, I bought 2 larger bamboo plants. I have about 8-15 shoots coming out near each one and they are growing out of control. In the last 2 days, several shoots grew over a foot.

Absolutely fascinating! This should be a very fun summer.

Comments (25)

• kudzu9
    15 years ago

You're in trouble now! Next you'll want to add even more bamboo to your yard, and then who knows where that will lead?

• greenman28 NorCal 7b/8a
    15 years ago

This is my first year growing bamboo, and it seems that every time I turn around there are new shoots jumping up out of the soil! Almost all of my transplanted culms have sent up shoots, and I've even gotten a few shoots from the rhizome plantings.

Josh

• hank11
    15 years ago

beware yardman, kudzu9 knows of what he speaks. so many times I have found myself crawling around counting new shoots only to do it again the next day. I'm up to 12 varieties It started so innocently with a single rizome from a p. aurea golden HELP! somebody stop me.

• fluffy_bamboo
    15 years ago

It is amazing how fast they grow. Every year my black bamboo goes crazy. My neighbors must see me out there everyday looking at them and think I am nuts. Now my Mexican Weeping is going crazy.

• tuscanseed
    15 years ago

This must be the year of the bamboo, as the same thing is happening in my garden. This has been the best year with new shoots in a ten-year-old grove. It moved into power-grow mode almost overnight!

• theyardman
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Wow, we've had some very wet tropical weather the last 2 weeks and since the first shoot broke through the soil, the highest ones are now about 15-20 feet high. How tall are these suckers gonna get. They are not even leafing out yet. Is this going to turn out to be "The Little Shop of Horros" (I hope so).