Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeremy88_gw

questions for kentuck 8b

jeremy88
15 years ago

Kentuck 8b,

My zone is supposedly 7b, which means temps could drop to 5F. However, I have been gardening for 5 years now, and 14F is the lowest I can remember (and that was only once in five years ... 15F a couple of times). I have had a multiplex for 4 1/2 years, and it has done well. I definitely think textilis would work also. I'm wondering whether I can grow tuldoides (Clone X in particular), dissimulator, oldhamii, or any others. What do you think?

2nd question: Are textilis and textilis 'Glabra' different enough to both be worth growing?

3rd question: Texas is pretty dry. How much do you water your bamboos?

Thanks, -jeremy

Comments (5)

• kentuck_8b
    15 years ago

The lowest temp that we have had in the past several years has been 15F, but only for a short while(8 - 10 hours max), and quickly returning to above freezing.

From my experience. textilis is much more cold hardy than any of the multiplexes, which get leaf burn once temps drop into the 20's, whereas textilis gets very little damage from cold or wind. It grows to just over 40 feet here and culm 2.5 inches thick... a real beauty.

Tuldoides is about the same cold hardy as the multiplexes, but is a larger much more open clumper. I haven't got a Clones X, yet, but hopefully soon.

Oldhamii is quite cold hardy once it is established, but mine froze to the ground it's first few Winters when it was small. It came back larger each year. Very erect, just over 40 feet tall and culms 4 inches thick.

Dissimulator is still young but has shown no signs of leaf burn during Winter months.

My glabra is not in the best location but seems to look like the large(regular) textilis, only it is smaller. The culms on both plants have a lot of blue/whitish colour on them at certain times of the year. The big difference so far is size.