Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
avery09

Will this bamboo live?

avery09
10 years ago

Hey everyone. I'm new to garden web. Just moved to Oregon from Indiana! Most of my house plants are rather small and was wondering if bamboo was a feasible larger houseplant?
Yesterday the people down the road were digging large bamboo out of the ally way and putting it out for trash. i stole a large piece to see if I could grow it?
Being from Indiana, I haven't seen bamboo often. I know they get very large but with pruning can they be kept indoors?
Another question. The piece I took has 5 or 6 inches of root all around... do you think it will live?

Comments (18)

• kentuck_8b
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

It will definitely live as long as you don't let it dry out. The roots need to be kept moist.

As far as a houseplant goes, it depends on which kind of bamboo you have.

Kt

• kudzu9
    10 years ago

I think that looks iffy. It may live, but normally you need a bigger rootball to insure it survives.

Also, you don't prune bamboo like you do other plants. Whatever you cut off will not grow back, nor will it encourage other growth.

Lastly, why do you want to keep it indoors as a houseplant? In Oregon, this bamboo will be evergreen and grow well. Indoors it may do ok, but it will be a challenge to keep it healthy, alive and looking decent over the long term.

• avery09
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I'm a 22 year old living in a studio apartment. I have a lot of smaller plants but want something that will grow larger. No yard to plant things in sadly.

• avery09
    Original Author
    10 years ago

I'm a 22 year old living in a studio apartment. I have a lot of smaller plants but want something that will grow larger. No yard to plant things in sadly.

• kudzu9
    10 years ago

Avary-