Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scijox

Newly shipped... DOA?

scijox
15 years ago

Hi I am new at growing Bamboo and recently bought myself some P. Nuda. I knew it could survive my cold climate. Anyway I finally got my bamboo but when it arrived it seemed rather... sick. The message I got with the shipment said not to alarmed by "some" defoliation. My bamboo looks hardly alive at all. I want to know if this is normal and if my little bamboo will make it. I thought I saw new growth but they don't seem to change. Attached are pics.

I have started pulling off dead leaves.

I am not sure what to do. Should I cut it back and hope for the best? Do you think new shoots should come up? OR am I just screwed?

Comments (12)

• kentuck_8b
    15 years ago

Looks like it will be OK. It needs some water and some sunshine.

I have never received one that looks that bad, but some did have dead leaves on them. As long as the culms are green and there are some green leaves, it can survive.

I personally don't remove any leaves nor do any cutting back as that damages the plant even more. I think it is best to let it lose it's leaves on its's own. Just don't water too much as this can also kill a small sickly plant. Let it dry out a bit in between waterings.

Good Luck

Kt

• scijox
    Original Author
    15 years ago

The pot I have seems to be staying moist too much I really hope this little guy makes it.

• scijox
    Original Author
    15 years ago

OK my bamboo is getting even worse.... It's lost more leaves and I am ready to just ask my supplier to ship me a healthy plant... Would cutting back and hoping for new growth work as a last ditch effort?

• kudzu9
    15 years ago

I recommend that you don't traumatize it any more than it is. Just keep watering it normally and see if it makes a comeback. I've seen bamboo completely defoliate through neglect and bounce back with proper care.