Return to the Bamboo Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Moso vs. Vivax vs. Henon Bamboo

Posted by gigman7 7 (My Page) on
Thu, Jul 31, 14 at 10:23

I'm looking at buying some bamboo. I want it to be at least 4 inches in diameter. I'm looking at Moso, Vivax, and Henon. I do not want it to take over an acre of my land in 4 or 5 years but worried that it may. Which species should I get? I want a green trunk. Not any of the stripped, or different colored ones.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Moso vs. Vivax vs. Henon Bamboo

I doubt that you will get to 4" diameter any time soon, especially in Zone 7. I've been growing timber bamboo for over 10 years in Zone 8 and rarely have anything bigger than 2" diameter. Henon will never get that large regardless of where you live. Vivax can get large, but is thin-walled and breaks under snow loading. Moso is very strong and can get large, but don't expect miracles.

If you plant running bamboo, they only take over if you don't maintain them. If you want to try to grow bamboo like this, decide whether you will be installing barrier, or are willing to commit to rhizome pruning once or twice a year all around the perimeter you want to maintain. You won't have to do rhizome pruning for the first several years, but you will have to do it when they start to get established and run...and to continue to do it ever after.

o

Moso may be the slowest one to run.

Here's 3 years of progress in the ground on mine, and it does not seem to have any intention on taking over any time soon.

Here is a link that might be useful: moso bicolor diary

o

Are you sure it is moso? Any images I have seen have been 4"+ in size.

It is going to be slower growing since it is "bicolor". Anything that has a variegated form is going to grow slower. This could explain the smaller size, but I doubt it.

o