Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
iain42

Grove preperation underway..... FINALLY

iain42
15 years ago

I have been posting here off and on for two years about starting my bloody bamboo grove but it is really happening now. Just ordered 130+ft of 60mil 30 inch barrier. Also I have a tractor and tiller scheduled to come dig the trench and bury it in. The best price on barrier was bamboo garden in Oregon for $200 $70 shipping.

I have a sewer line 12ft from the left side so I will start just on the right of it. This is phase one. The next phase will be yet another 135ft barrier cut into sections to use the rest of the way around the back yard. My plan to block out the blightful view of downtown Little Rock. I'm excited this is finally underway.

{{gwi:414771}}

To kill the grass I have bisqueen covering the grass for several months. This has been working pretty well. I plan to till the area to pull out the rest of the vegetation.

Fortunately I made a contact that knew of a bamboo farm in Arkansas. I'm not worried about what to pick now because I'll do that when I see them in person in October. I do plan to pick several different kinds of bamboo. In the back super tall and down the sides 20ft high.

? What do I want to mix in with the soil to make it optimal for growing bamboo? Should I raise the bamboo bed to be higher than the rest of the yard ? I have one area of shade which bambo could grow there? Doesn't have to grow more than 15ft.

I get a discount by digging the bamboo myself. If I had to guess I would say I need to dig the bamboo that started growing this spring. Is that correct? How much of a root system should I dig up with the specimens? If I want a more established specimen and root system can I go with the tallest I can find and cut the bamboo to a transportable size? I realize this won't be pretty but I would assume a stronger more established root system would be better in the long run.

Any advice much appreciated. I am excited.

Comments (9)