Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carriebor

Bamboo dermatitis? Rash?

Carrie B
14 years ago

I spent several hours this morning pruning, thinning and generally cleaning out bamboo in a new garden client's garden. I have very little experience working with bamboo, this being only my second bamboo-related job. I don't remember having this reaction the last time...

My arms, and, to a lesser degree, my neck, are covered with irritation and scratches. I also have blistery/pimply looking bumps all over my arms. My arms are a bit tingly, as well.

Is this common? If you've had a similar reaction, have you used a product to minimize the reaction?

{{gwi:421989}}

Comments (81)

• traxx003
    7 years ago

I worked with bamboo for several years (same location/ bamboo) and never had any issues then one day I turned up allergic to it . I use a spray called IVY-DRY SUPER. Its for poison whatever insect bites etc works great, altho a bit pricey ($12.00) well worth it. Good luck

• Cyndi Brast
    6 years ago

My husband and I have both had the same rash from the bamboo. It's a type of contact dermatitis that is very similar to poison ivy with weeping blisters. I also notice a very strong odor coming from the bamboo every year in the summertime. It's a nice way to block out the neighbors, but I also hate it!!!

• kudzu9
    6 years ago

Cyndi-

I've grown over 100 varieties of bamboo, and bamboo do not have any distinctive odor that I know of except for Phyllostachys atrovaginata, which is known as incense bamboo as it has a faint odor like sandalwood. If you are getting a very strong odor, it could be another plant nearby, or something in the ground that has no relation to the bamboo.

• PRO
    Chris Knight Garden maintenance
    6 years ago