Return to the Bamboo Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Bamboo dermatitis? Rash?

Posted by carrieb 7 Philadelphia (My Page) on
Fri, Aug 7, 09 at 22:35

I spent several hours this morning pruning, thinning and generally cleaning out bamboo in a new garden client's garden. I have very little experience working with bamboo, this being only my second bamboo-related job. I don't remember having this reaction the last time...

My arms, and, to a lesser degree, my neck, are covered with irritation and scratches. I also have blistery/pimply looking bumps all over my arms. My arms are a bit tingly, as well.

Is this common? If you've had a similar reaction, have you used a product to minimize the reaction?

Photobucket

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Bamboo dermatitis? Rash?

• Posted by kudzu9 Zone 8b, WA (My Page) on
    Fri, Aug 7, 09 at 22:50

I've never experienced this or heard of this, and I work with bamboo a lot. That's not to say that it couldn't happen or that you don't have a special sensitivity. However, I would think something else was the cause. Does your client use chemical sprays of any kind that might have left a residue on the leaves?

o

Thanks, kudzu. I can't imagine that the client uses anything - especially since he hires someone (me) to care for his garden. I work as a gardener, so spend lots of time outdoors with a large variety of ornamental plants. I don't think I've every experienced this reaction before, but I am certain that it was caused by the bamboo; I first noticed the reaction in my car, on the way home from the bamboo job.

o

The only problem I've had with any of my bamboos, comes from the fine 'hairs' on the culm sheaths, usually on the larger bamboos, like Oldhamii.

The sheaths, even after falling off are covered with dark short fibers that will make me itch, like itching powder, but I've never had an allergic reaction to it. The fibers are difficult to see.