Return to the Bamboo Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Seed Propagation Success

Posted by jjgnc NC (My Page) on
Fri, Sep 1, 06 at 15:55

6 weeks ago I obtained 13 bamboo seeds from an Ebay seller. I planted the seeds in a small clay pot with Miracle Grow-laced seed starting soil. One week ago the first bamboo arose from the soil. There are now five bamboo seedlings growing quite rapidly. The tallest seedling is now 2 inches in height and has a healthy looking stem and leaf. Today, one more poked through the surfacem making for the total of five.

The bamboo I planted is a running bamboo, specifically a "water bamboo". I am concerned about the rhizomes intermingling and damaging each other. At what point should I transplant the seedlings into a larger pot? This one is rather small. Should I go ahead and separate the seedlings into their own pots?

I am new at bamboo seed planting, in fact I am new to bamboo care period.

Any assistance would be great! Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Seed Propagation Success

I have running bamboo its a great plant if you have the space for it.mine is two years old and in the ground, it spreads. I would try to find a place in the ground for it before it get to cold. your sounds like its still real small,so you may want to winter it in inside. try putting one in the ground I bet it will take off.
Stay Wild and Wonderful in Weat Virgina

o

I'll probably winter the healthiest three of them...and the other two I will plant in the ground and hope for the best. Do you think they would survive the winter? NC generally has mild winters...but we do have some real cold snaps. I will wait until they develop a second leaf before putting them in the ground.

o

Update: