Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
meat_gw

Transplant

meat
18 years ago

I am going saturday to dig up several bamboo plants form a woman who has over way more than she can hande. I am unsure of the species of this bamboo the information I have is that the plants are 6 to 12' tall and 2 to 4 inches in diameter . I have a few questions on method of diging these up . To start I am completely new to bamboo but I plan on getting very into it from this point on. My questions are as follows

1. Is it ok to cut the plants down to a more managable height .if so how should I go about cutting htem.

2. Since these plants will be going through a 30 to 45 minute comute should I wrap the root balls in plastic or berlap? or should I just leave them open.

3.when diging them up is there a certain amount of the rizomes and rootball that I need to bring up? I have read tsomething along the lineds od as deep as the plant is tall which doesnt sound right.

I look forward to you replies and any help anyone can offer me .

Comments (29)

• seattleboo
    18 years ago

Can't imagine what would be 12 feet tall and 2-4 inches in diameter! Perhaps some vivax that someone has already chain sawed down to a few feet. My advice would be to take a VERY STURDY shovel, an axe, and a carpenter's saw, just in case. I once cut through bamboo root with a chainsaw because that was the only way to do it. I had planted it in a 6X2.5 foot (custom made wooden) planter box 2.5 feet deep, and the roots had invaded every inch of soil in 5 years. And sure, if you have to cut somebody in half, it really won't kill them. You could probably throw in a stick of dynamite, and still get something home alive. Whether or not to wrap the rootball probably depends on how hot it is, but I've seen people be very rough with bamboo roots with no ill effects. You can't really kill it with a stick. It just laughs at you and goes on living.

• unautre
    18 years ago

"6 to 12' tall and 2 to 4 inches in diameter"