Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrsfox_gw

Would clumping bamboo work?

mrsfox
10 years ago

I want to plant a screen of some kind in the mulched area of the picture below for privacy from the neighbors. I want 8-10 feet of height and it has to be narrow (2.5 feet). Would some kind of clumping bamboo work? I am new to gardening, so any advice would be great. Thanks!

Comments (8)

• subtropix
    10 years ago

Difficult to answer as you have not provided enough information. In approximately what area of the country are you located? Clumping bamboo are terrific but they tend to resent extreme climates (too hot, too cold, too dry). I have had good results with Fargesia rufa. Most Fargesia will not thrive with hot, humid summers (especially at night), but this one seems to do well. It also depends on its sun and wind exposure--they don't like daylong, blazing sun or cold arctic winds (mine gets morning sun, dappled sun, or only part day, direct sun, and some protection from wind by a fence. Also depends on your rainfall, bamboo like rain even though they can take some drought. Fargesia is also fairly expensive. The photo of the wall of bamboo (which is a mixed grove of F. rufa and Borinda angustifola) that I posted was started several years ago from three tiny pots--each around $16.00 dollars. Each season, I divided the clumps which gradually grew wider and taller. Now, they are over seven feet tall and about three feet wide. It worked for that particular spot but might have failed elsewhere. Even if bamboo does not work for you, there are lots of alternatives. Good luck!

• mrsfox
    Original Author
    10 years ago