Return to the Bamboo Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Alphonse Karr... Leaves curling??

Posted by speedjester none (My Page) on
Thu, Oct 3, 13 at 17:12

Well I'm new to Bamboo... And just had quite a bit of it installed along a fence line.... My question is regarding the leaves curling.... I have been watering it 2-3 times a day... But just before the noon watering I notice the leaves that face the sun are partially curled.... I know the landscaper explained that the leaves will curl when they need water but wondering if they also curl to protect themselves from the heat of the sun... ( seems the quickly unfold when the leaves are misted...

Any help would be appreciated..

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Alphonse Karr... Leaves curling??

How hot is it where you are? And have you tried to use a moisture meter to determine how dry your soil is when this happens?

My experience with bamboo leaves curling is that they do this to conserve water when the plant is getting dry. When I have full, bright sun and temps in the eighties, I don't see leaf curling if the plant has enough water.

One other thought is that, if the plants you just planted did not have very large root balls, the root systems may not have enough capacity to provide all the water needed. This could happen if the plants you put in were just divided (taken out of the ground), had marginal-size root balls, and had not been allowed to stabilize in pots and re-build their roots for a number of months first. Do you know if your plants had been in pots for a while?

o

Some of them were freshly dug up clumps.... The landscaper checks on them periodically ... He explained same as you... That the ground may be damp but the roots are not sufficient just yet to absorb all the moisture required by the plant.....