Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pinkswine

Water dry bamboo when ground is frozen?

pinkswine
14 years ago

Is it advisable to water bamboo that is in need of water if the ground is frozen? Jen

Comments (12)

• kentuck_8b
    14 years ago

The ground freezes in zone 8?

Interesting question, but one that I cannot answer since I have no experience with ground freeze.

Kt

• kudzu9
    14 years ago

I don't think it's needed, and it might not even be helpful. I never water my bamboo from fall through early spring whether the ground is frozen or not. They seem to do fine in nature without having someone with a hose around!

• botanicalbill
    14 years ago

You cant water it if the ground is frozen, you would need to thaw out the ground and then water. But, you do not want it to freeze again as the extra water can damage the root system if it does. The plant should have an extreamly low demand for water if its below freezing, I would wait till spring, it should bounce back.

• pinkswine
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Yes, lately we've had weather getting down into the teens. I have several one gallon bamboo (lots of different varieties) which were planted last summer. Since they are not well established yet, I am concerned.

• kudzu9
    14 years ago

pinkswine-
    I'm having the same weather as you are, and I'm not worried. Your bamboo are essentially dormant right now. Do they show any signs of stress?

I'd be more concerned that they were mulched than that they were getting supplemental water when it's freezing out.

• pinkswine
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Some of my clumpers have lost more leaves than I would have expected. I do have a Qiongzhuea tumidissinoda
    (Chinese Walking Stick Bamboo)in a pot that looks dried up and sad.It already has fresh mulch. Maybe I should put it in the garage until it warms up.

• kudzu9
    14 years ago