Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vmckague_gw

banana seed success

vmckague
17 years ago

I have been gardening now for over 30 years and this will be the first time that I am trying to start bananas from seed. The ones I'm trying are abyssinian banana - musa. I received the seed today and the instructions said it would take 1-6 months to germinate. Is this right? I've read a few posts and it seems most people have some to sprout in a month or less. Any words of wisdom on this project? Is it worth it? I plan on using a heat mat that I got from parks seed last month but maybe it will keep the soil to warm. It is the kind that has a wire rack over it. I checked the soil temp in a flat over it with a digital thermometer and it was at 89 to 90 degrees. Isn't that kind of high? Thanks in advance

Comments (13)

• bob6012
    17 years ago

vmckague,
    Yep, sometimes it takes a month or much longer. I soaked 5 Nepal Giants in orange juice for 24 hours and planted 5 seeds in a soiless mix (Jiffy-Mix for seeds), put them on a heating pad at 80 degrees and waited. One sprouted in 31 days and the other in 38 days. One rotted and the other two are still germinating.