Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
glaswegian_gw

Losing My Tropical Banana Virginity

glaswegian
16 years ago

Hello everyone,

I am new to tropical planting in general, and after reading this forum and others, and narrowing down the tropicals I'll like to have in my new garden, started last spring, banana plants was right up there on my list.

Anyhoo....I purchased Musa Basjoo plants today for $15.99 each, from Millionplants garden center in St Catherines ON Canada. I got them home and transplanted them into a bigger pot ( 10" pot ).

Here is the picture

{{gwi:405110}}

I plan to put one on th efront lawn when the last frost is over ( May 24th )

{{gwi:405111}}

The other one in the backyard

{{gwi:405112}}

Please share you tips on how to make this plants grow taller in the first season, care and maintenance, how to wintererize them if I choose to bring them in and store in the basement?

I am also going to be growing castor bean plants, which I have going under growlights in the basement at the moment.

Cheers

Comments (8)

• joey_powell
    16 years ago

glaswegian,

I think you have some very interesting Banana Plants. Don't take this the wrong way, but I'm fairly sure these are not Musa Basjoo. I have been growing Musa Basjoo for years. First of all the pseudostems appear too thin proportionately to their heights. And second, I have never seen Musa Basjoo with brown/dead leafs run all the way up the Psuedostem, like the one in the right in the pic at the top. Third, the leaves end at much sharper of a pointy shape than Basjoo. Just my opinion. Anyways I'm sure whatever these are they will look great, though!

• banana_fun
    16 years ago

glaswegian,

Those bananas will grow into monsters by the end of summer. My basjoo that are that size will grow about 5 feet of psuedostem during summer. Remember, the key to growing bananas is lots of fertilizer and water.