Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bananafan

Bone meal

bananafan
15 years ago

Is bone meal supposed to be good for fertilizing bananas? What other plants would benefit from it also? I just bought a box of it and was going to find out if my bananas will like it, but before I do so, the raccoon came and opened up the box first. Fortunately, it didn't know how to open it all the way up, so I sitll have my bone meal. Would greatly appreciate if you have some advice to offer.

Comments (7)

• nightrider767
    15 years ago

Bananafan, looks like you're not getting any takers from experts on this so I'll offer my 2 cents worth. "meaning I am not an expert"

Bonemeal is not a balanced fertilizer, it really has no nitrogen to speak of. Banana's aren't too picky about fertilzer, but they do prefer a general balance.

I've heard people, who know much more about them than I, say put the cheapest stuff you can buy, 20-20-20, and they'll do great.

Now I'm sure people can can debate that all day, but in the end, it's generaly probably pretty true.

As for bone meal, one thing about it is that it's a really slow release type of fertilizer. So it would probably be just fine as long you supplimented it with other stuff.

Good luck with you bananas this year. I'm on the road now and can't wait to get home as I got a couple pups that need moving!

Take care.

• bananafan
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Nightrider,

Thanks so much for taking the time to respond. Your advice certainly makes a lot of sense to me. I've always been curious about bone meal. Maybe I'll feed it to my other plants who are more fussy with other kinds of fertilizers. My lychees, mangos and longans are certainly the more fussy ones. I've also fed these plants with fish emulsion which they seem to like so far.