Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
staceybeth_gw

Musa in A Pot?

staceybeth
15 years ago

Okay, I posted on another thread somewhere on this board. I cant find it.

I live in MASS, it gets cold. I am new to tropicals and have 4 new EE's a crested leopard plant and a pitcher plant. I have educated my self on "winterizing" them, but are interested in a Musa. It does need to be in a pot because we have all ledge. Can someone enlighten me? Also, what size would be good as well as what size pot (in inches please) and what kind of soil and fert.

Thanks so much.

Stace.

Comments (7)

• beachbum_nj
    15 years ago

I have had my Musa in a pot for the last 2 years. The pot is about15" in diameter. I use regular soil. When it is out I water every day and fertilize often. I use Peters fertilizer. I bring it in for the winter and keeb it near a window. It actually grows some in the house. I water it once a week with enough water to sit in the tray. I just brought it out a couple days ago and put it in shade for a while. Will move it to the sun this weekend. Hope this helps.

Beachbum

• jardinerowa
    15 years ago

I learned the hard way but I've gotten better at this.

The pot size depends on the banana plant size. The diameter of the pot should be more than a few inches bigger than the diameter of the banana's pseudostem. If you put a smaller banana in a huge pot, it will likely rot. Banana's love water but rot can happen with these guys.

As the banana gets bigger and bigger, you can keep changing the pot to a bigger one until you're at a 20 to 25 gallon container/pot in which a banana can get pretty big and even fruit possibly.

Zach

• jardinerowa
    15 years ago

On my previous reply, I meant to say "the diameter of the pot should be NO more than a few inches bigger..." Sorry!

I wish we had an edit feature...
    Zach

• staceybeth
    Original Author
    15 years ago