Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
outinthegardenallday

Ensete maurelii (Red Abyssinian Banana) - first time poster

Good evening all. This is my first time to this forum.

I have a dear friend who has never steered me wrong with his plant recommendations. I saw his beautiful Ensete maurelii last August and knew I had to get one too. During a visit to Plant Delights in early May, I found a lovely plant and had it shipped up to me here on Long Island.

I've potted her up and wait. I've got her in a morning and late afternoon sun position. Plant Delights, prior to shipping, cut off all of her leaves. I've got one or two unfurling...lovely green and deep burgundy.

How shall I handle the plant for her first growing season? Should I just leave her be and let her do her thing?

I have a feeling that this plant is going to open up a whole new world for me. I tend to be a lily, daylily, rose, hosta gardener. But I was really drawn to this plant. And reading your messages on the forum has put a spark in me to try something even more exotic. Any suggestions would be appreciated (I plan on cutting the EM back in the Fall and storing her in the basement. I am not adverse to digging up and storing anything in the Fall as long as I know the end result is going to be a good one.)

Ciao,

OITGAD

Comments (13)

• subtropix
    17 years ago

Bananas grow their fastest in the ground. Provide full sun and water regularly while growing actively. They are also heavy feeders. I cut mine down and put mine into their basement dormancy around mid to late November. I do not water in the winter. I repot them in March or early april and get them going before planting in the ground (sometime in May around here). Be very careful about watering after dormancy. After repotting, I water and wait for the soil to dry before rewatering. Bananas corms will rot if excessive cool and wet before active growth has begun. If you remember this, then they are easy.

• wolflover
    17 years ago