Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ornata

Ensete 'Montbeliardii'

ornata
17 years ago

Hi. Does anybody grow this? I'd never heard of it until last week, when it cropped up in an article in a gardening magazine, and then again the next day on a TV gardening programme. It has the colouring of 'Maurelii' but is much taller, more elegant and upright in habit. It's available from an exotic plant nursery in the UK, and I'm tempted to buy one - it sound like it would give the height and dramatic presence without taking up too much space. What are your experiences with it? Thanks.

Comments (6)

• dilbert
    17 years ago

I have a picture of one taken about 35 years ago at Longwood Gardens. My picture appears in the book, Tropica. On page 668, there is a picture of my father next to Ensete 'Montbellardii.'

Although I have no experience growing 'Montbeliardii', I know from experience that 'Maurelii' can be grown to look like 'Montbeliardii' by treating it with the plant hormone, gibberellic acid.

• stevethelizard
    17 years ago

i havent grown it but if you go to the kobakoba web site it will tell you all about it . it is thought that the origional form was lost i think this is a tissue culture sport that is supposed to be identical to the original i am thinking of getting one but i am fast running out of room i need a bigger garden
    yours
    steve

Here is a link that might be useful: kobakoba

• dilbert
    17 years ago

That kobakoba site site incorrectly states that Alfred Byrd Graph was the photgrapher of the image in Tropica. Since they also said this is the only known photograph of Montbeliardii in cultivation, I will hereby prove that I am indeed the photographer of that image.
    {{gwi:410064}}