Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
traceyandaaron

Two questions about an indoor dwarf cavendish

traceyandaaron
13 years ago

Hi all,

I have an indoor (Outdoor climate is not even remotely suitable for growing a banana tree here! 5a/5b hardiness with lots of precipitation and very snowy winters) dwarf cavendish that is I'd guess somewhere between 3 and 4 feet tall, planted in a large container maybe 18-24 inches in diameter. I'm new to taking care of this tree, so I have two questions.

1) The tree has two pups, one of which is growing quite quickly. For the health of the pup and the mother, as well as for ornamental reasons, I'd like to separate the two. The pup in question is maybe 6-9 inches tall at this point but unfortunately has literally only 1-2 inches of clearance next to the mother. I have never in my life transplanted a baby tree (I've done propagation from cuttings and repotting existing plants, naturally, just never transplanting a baby).

I found a helpful guide for separating the pups, but it seems geared towards outdoors and suggests using a shovel and a sledgehammer, which I'm certain is overkill for this process. Any tips for transplanting a baby indoors with these space constraints? The outdoor guide suggests that I should sever any connection between the child and bother, but otherwise doesn't appear to go too deep in the soil, and says I shouldn't worry too much about the quantity of roots I'm able to take.

---

2) Something about the recent growth of the mother tree has bothered me. There are two visible new leaves growing out of the top of the tree, like previous growth. They have a light green colour and are growing at about the speed I'd expect. So far, so good. My problem is that near the base of those leaves (on the inside of the tree; is the proper term here "pseudostem"?), there's a wet, slimy, black coating almost like mulch in consistency. It reminds me of the feel of autumn leaves that have not been raked.