Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
izzydare

First time growing musa basjoo need tips

izzydare
14 years ago

Hi,I live in southern Saginaw county in Michigan. This is my first time growing basjoo or any banana for that matter. I would like to know:

a:how to overwinter here in zone 5b to 6a

b:approx. how large it will get if planted in the

ground

c:how much sun can it tolerate

d:what kind of soil conditions should it have

e:what type of fertilizer should I use on it

Comments (11)

• islandbreeze
    14 years ago

Hi, I live in Southern Wayne county off Lake Erie.
    If you have a basement, it's best to plant it against the foundation of your house. It will get anywhere from 4 feet to 8 feet its first year in the ground depending on growing conditions. It should be given full sun to part shade and planted in a rich soil with drainage(not clay). Use Milorganite along with blood meal and liquid fertilizers like miracle gro. You can also mix some cow manure into the soil, which you should have no problem getting where you live.

• Linda's Garden z6 Utah
    14 years ago

Hi, I live in northern Utah which is also zone 6. Last summer I planted a musa basjoo in the ground, nowhere near my house, and in the fall I cut the stalk down to about 2 feet tall and mulched it heavily but surrounding it with bags of leaves and added more leaves to the center area around the stalk and then covered the whole thing with a tarp to keep it dry. It made it through the winter just fine and actually put out a few pups during the winter. It is growing like crazy now. They like a lot of water, fertilizer, milorganite and sun!

Good Luck with yours!

• izzydare
    Original Author
    14 years ago

To Islandbreeze: thank you for the information. The only problem that I have is that I don't have a basement or foundation to keep it protected and warm. Do you have any other sugestions for that?

• islandbreeze
    14 years ago