Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lovethosepalms

Musa Basjoo Banana/tropical garden

lovethosepalms
18 years ago

Here is a picture of my two Musa Basjoo Banana plants, I purchased them off

of E-Bay in March and they were tiny plants. I potted the little guys up twice

before planting them in the ground, since in the ground these guys just amaze me

how fast they grow and one even though it is small one is putting out a pup. I

wanted a little topical garden and I think these Banana plants did add that

topical effect I was looking for. I just hope they get about 6 or seven feet

this season. This is my first year trying any type of Banana. I visit the Banana

Forum and I read and I learn. I know they need lot's of water and fertilizer and

lot's of sun.

I know I will have many questions on protection in the winter and some

general care. But I just thought I would share a picture of my labor.Â

{{gwi:412862}}

Â

Â

Comments (31)

• Todd_In_Texas
    18 years ago

Congrats on your start. I bet after a few years both of those corners will be filled in with basjoos.

-Todd

• lovethosepalms
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Todd, thanks for the support, I hope they do well. I sure am still learning about them.

• Todd_In_Texas
    18 years ago

Is that a windmill palm (Trachycarpus fortunei) you have growing there?
    {{gwi:412863}}
    We bought and planted 4 of them in the 5 gal size and they've probably doubled in size in one year. I've noticed that after the first year of getting used to the soil and rooting that the second year is mostly spent putting out new fronds.

-Todd

• sandy0225
    18 years ago

You'd better watch out! That's how I started, only I started with only one banana, carried back with me from Alabama. Now I have 150+ bananas. I predict in the future, you'll be relandscaping your yard in bananas and tropicals....
    Nice start!!!!
    Sandy

Here is a link that might be useful: my crazy yard!

• Todd_In_Texas
    18 years ago

Sandy.