Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nctim_gw

about over-wintering

nctim
18 years ago

This is my first year growing bananas, but my little collection has grown to 4 basjoos + 3 pups and 1 zebrina + 4 pups. I've decided to dig them all for the winter so I can totally rework that area of the yard, i.e. out with the clay, in with better topsoil, manure, etc. Going for the jungle look next year. I'm assuming that storing these in a basement is the best way to preserve the stems, since I need to move them anyway. Also, when is the best time to remove those pups? I was considering bringing in the baby basjoos to grow indoors over the winter.

Comments (10)

• islandtim
    18 years ago

in north carolina you can wait till the pups get about 4 to 5 feet tall and them take them up. sometimes i will plant directly in another spot but i usually put them in large pots for the rest of the season. most of these i give away to friends. you will need to dig the ones in the ground up around the end of oct. to the first of nov. depending on when the first frost comes. a trash bag around the corm, lay them down in a cool(not freezing) basement floor with little to no light or in the crawlspace of the house. bring them out around the 15th of april or after the last frost date. i would just put them all there and forget about them till spring. they will be fine.

• jbcarr
    18 years ago

The basjoos should be ground hardy in your zone. The Zebrina is not (I killed a few last year), and need to be overwintered.

• gurley157fs
    18 years ago

What about overwintering in pots in the house?

I was thinking about potting mine up and putting them in my sunroom. The sunroom is not heated but does not ever get below freezing.

Any one have any thoughts on this?

This is my first year, one plant is about 7ft and the other is only 4ft.

• nctim
    Original Author
    18 years ago