Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bogman95

best banana for container gardening in my area.

bogman95
13 years ago

Hi,

I live roughly about 20 minutes north of Winston-Salem. I want to eventually try container gardening with bananas. I have 3 questions. First, which banana will work best for my area. Secondly, which banana will put out full sized fruit. I see a lot of cool varieties on different sites that put out small to medium sized fruit, but when I put my money down I want the real deal, just in dwarf form. Finally, can bananas overwinter in an unheated greenhous or do they need heat?

Comments (4)

• User
    13 years ago

I've become a big fan of Dwarf Giants (Enano Gigante). It's a variety of Musa acuminata and readily available. This is my first year growing it and it has not fruited but I understand its fruit is creamier and sweeter than the store-bought. Not sure of size but assume the fruit is medium-sized or larger. What I like about the banana is just how robust and fast growing this variety is. It also suckers heavily! I put mine into the ground recently as it quickly outgrew its container. I also like the super dwarf cavendish but I don't think this will produce the size fruit you want. The super dwarf may be dwarf but it is also a quick grower and freely suckers. Be prepared with large containers--even for the 'dwarfs' as they grow quickly.