Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
compostman_gw

Musa Basjoo Success

compostman
15 years ago

I've been growing Musa Basjoo in Northern New Jersey for a few years now with good success. If anyone is interested, I've documented and taken pictures of my Basjoo experiences.

Here is a link that might be useful: Musa Basjoo

Comments (6)

• miraclegrower
    15 years ago

Your banana's look awesome!!!
    I have two Musa's, I left them in the ground over the winter, we had a brutal one, and they both survived. I simply cut down the stalk to about 6 inches, covered the stalk with about 2 feet of chopped up leaves. The first sign of spring, I dug away the leaves, and bam I had growth!!!

• compostman
    Original Author
    15 years ago

With the mild winters that we've been having lately, I'm tempted to leave a few of my plants in the ground too. I may give it a try.

• miraclegrower
    15 years ago

Sounds great. You wont regret trying banana's. I ripped my entire backyard up, wrote up some plans. One side of yard has a tiny strip of grass left to mow. I went out and bought a reel mower, no more gas! Heck I can use a weed eater to cut my lawn its so small now with all the plants and bushes.
    I planted privet bushes, tropicals,flowers, ornamental grasses,vines,rose of sharons,elephant ears,iris,salvia. I cut down the tall trees to allow sun for the tropicals which by the way are now acting as shade.
    I also went on the side of the backroads to collect some wild Golden Rod, and some flowers I have no idea what they are. If I see a flower I like on the backroads, I dig it out, just be careful when doing this, and make sure your not breaking any laws.
    I now have a jungle in Kentucky. When spring comes, I know its almost time for the show to begin.

There is absolutely nothing better for the mind and the soul than having a wonderful garden to enjoy. The stuff you plant becomes apart of you.