Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
peaches20

Is my banana tree okay?

peaches20
15 years ago

Hi all,

I am new to banana trees this year. I'm not sure what kind of tree I have as I bought it from Gruneys this past spring and it was listed it in the catalog as a dwarf tree. I have some questions.

Is my tree doing okay?

There's some black stuff on the stalk and was wondering if that was okay?

Is it in a big enough pot, or should I get a bigger one?

I fertilized the tree with the individual packs of mircale grow that I mixed in watering can and I also put in some osmocote. Is that okay?

I have the tree on a plant stand and ig gets dappled sunlight as it is on my back porch and that's shaded by an oak tree. Should I move it to full sun?

That's all the questions I can think of for now. Here's a pic.

{{gwi:416540}}

Thanks,

Nancy

Comments (10)

• tropicallvr
    15 years ago

It looks like a perfectly healthy Musa 'Dwarf Cavendish'. The black is normal coloring for them, the pot size looks good for that size of plant, but you'll need a bigger pot in the future if you want fruit. Bananas can take a whole lot of fertilizer, and seem to take more than most plants so it should be fine.
    As far as the amount of sunlight it needs- it needs to adjust slowly to full sun if it's been in a shady spot or inside or in a greenhouse. I'd give it sun, and water it alot.
    Nice plant, good luck with it.

• peaches20
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Thanks for answering my questions about the tree. My next thoughts will be what to do with it in the winter. I'm thinking of brining it in although a guy down the street has a couple of banana trees and had wrapped his up for the winter.

Thanks for the info.

Nancy

• Dave in NoVA • N. Virginia • zone 7A
    15 years ago

Hi Nancy,

It might possibly be a Super Dwarf Cavendish. Dwarf Cavs get bigger. But I could be wrong. My Dwarf Cav is about 7 feet tall.