Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
crystalmt04_gw

Siam Ruby

crystalmt04
13 years ago

I just planted a Siam Ruby a couple of days ago and after doing some research, I'm a little worried about it making it through the winter. I guess this variety seems to be more tender to cold temps?

I really didn't want to get such a tender tropical, but it was really cheap for a 4' tall plant, I only paid $12. Plus I didn't know how sensitive it really was.

The lady at the nursery said just to heavily mulch it and wrap something around the bottom of the trunk. Will this be enough?

I'm new to gardening and have never had plants to take care of till now. If it would be best to bring it in over winter, how exactly do I do that? Put it in a pot and only water once a month? Do I cut it back or anything? I would keep it in my sunroom which doesn't have central heating, but there's a window unit in there, should I turn this on once a day or over night to keep it warm in there?

Sorry for all the questions, but I hate to kill plants, no matter how cheap they are! Thanks for any advice!

Comments (4)

• User
    13 years ago