Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sfhellwig

What does the Maurelii mean?

sfhellwig
17 years ago

So I finally got my third cutivar of banana this year. It's one of those "I went to Home Depot for something and came home with a new banana" type of things. Now we all know how good these places are with proper labeling. It says ensete ventricosum "maurelii". It is definitely the ensete, bulbous bottom, mostly upright and doesn't lay out, red midrib. But I thought I read somewhere thet the maurelli was supposed to have a red underside of the leaf like a zebrina. I am either wrong or mine is not a maurelii. Would someone in the know set me straight as I do not like to spread misinformation. Also, it seems to be sensitive to burning the leaves but I have seen people say theirs do well in full sun in florida. Any ideas? Thanks guys!

Comments (5)

• bihai
    17 years ago

I am not an expert on plant nomenclature, but generally, when there is a part in a plant's name converted to the "xxxxx-ii" form, that is a form of the actual surname of the person who either discovered, first cultivated, extensively studied and id's the species, or developed the plant. Their name becomes a part of the plant "for posterity". Like Heliconia rostrata "Ruiz y Pavon". Its my understanding Ruiz and Pavon were botanists who studied and catalogued a lot of Amazonian and rainforest plants. Or names attached to plants like "evansii", "wilsonii", "williamsii"....these are the names of people converted to "plant naming code" if you will to designate their involvement with that particular species.

Names that refer to COLOR are add-ons like "rubra" for red, "alba" for white, "albo-variegata" for white variegated, "albo-marginata" for white leaf edges etc etc etc.

• dilbert
    17 years ago

"But I thought I read somewhere thet the maurelli was supposed to have a red underside of the leaf like a zebrina. I am either wrong or mine is not a maurelii."