Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jewelbaby1224

Bananas in Conroe, Woodlands, Houston Area???

jewelbaby1224
17 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to growing bananas. I'm in the Conroe, TX area N of Houston. Is there anyone in our area that has pointers for a banana newby????

My house came with a thick 40+ year old mat of bananas. We fed, mulched and divided in May. Got our 1st bloom (YEY) had fruit drop after 2 hands formed. Have 3 nanners left 6" long. Unidentified bananas up to 14 ft high.

IS it possible to collect and grow fruit here???

Comments (9)

• slfairless
    17 years ago

Wow, I'd love to see some pictures! It's definitely possible to fruit them. If the bananas are really 40+ years old then make sure to give them plenty of water and fertilizer and you should have more bananas then you know what to do with!

• houstonpat
    17 years ago

Yes it is quite possible to raise good bananas in Conroe. However, I've found that most old clumps of bananas found in landscaping aren't especially good eating. If you are really interested in growing bananas for both looks and eating I have had good luck with Raja Puri. It is fairly cold hardy, wind resistant, 8-10ft and fine eating. Protecting your plants from frost will dramatically increase your production. This is more easily done with dwarf cultivars.

• kellykay
    17 years ago

I am in Kingwood east of conroe. I too would like to grow bananas for eating. Ive heard white flies like banana trees. I already having a time controlling them on my hibicus. Has anyone heard that thats a problem?

• jewelbaby1224
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Hi, I really want to keep this one on bananas going!! We thinned and transplanted our old mat. With watering and a heavy mulch of "Black Cow" we had 2 fruit blooms! Due to lack of proper support the fruit didn't mature fully - but this year we'll have the supports ready.