Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
susan51_gw

help please

susan51
17 years ago

Hello,

I have been here before to post and got some wonderful advice.. I am new to banana plants... Well one day we went to a Home Depot and they had there banana plants on discount... One was a smaller one in a good enough pot. The second one is very big to me and I think it is in two small of a pot,It was not in good shape when I got but she is looking better each day... When should I repot? Now,spring? This plant is a Burgandy Stained Ornamental Banana plant in the musa sumatrana Rojo.. Is Greek to me..LOL...

I am adding a picture of it and I hope you all dont mind.

Thanks

Susan

{{gwi:423118}}

{{gwi:423119}}

Sorry floor looks awful but not normaly like that ... Long story...

Thanks again Susan

Comments (5)

• shiollie
    17 years ago

Yes, that pot is way too small for that nanner!! You could repot in a bigger pot, but it will make it untill spring, you might even get a few pups in spring!! That banana looks more like a Dwarf Cavendish or a high color mini.
    Nice plumies you have there too!! :)

• susan51
    Original Author
    17 years ago

Thank you so much for your answer.. I was begining to think no one was going to help... :-( It is not fully root bound so I think I will wait until later to repot.. I think it has gone through enough already... It really looked like garbage when I bought it... As for the type,who knows.. I just typed what the stick on label said.. Does not really matter I just wanted to save it... Now they had this bigger one on the rack also... When I got that and asked how much was this one 3 or 6 dollars the boy said Oh that one is 23.99 .. I said what he then said someone more then likely put it with those... Funny they were the only 3 banana plants they had.... so that one stayed... I was not paying that much money for a plant that was beat up.
    I have my first flower from my plumerias today... I am so excited...LOL silly huh?