Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
billbrandi

New to growing/some basic questions

billbrandi
17 years ago

I am new to growing bananas here in Florida and have some basic questions:

1. I planted about 9 months ago and 6 weeks ago the main shoot bloosomed and I now have some very green fruit growing. How long does it take before the fruit should be harvested (keep in mind it is now November in Florida)?

2. I have been told that the shoot that has borne fruit will die and need to be cutoff when the fruit is harvested. Is that true? It will only bear fruit once?

3. If the answer to number 2 above is yes, what about the other, smaller shoots that have sprung up around the main shoot? Will they need to be cutoff with the main shoot after its fruit is harvested or will they each bear fruit, given time?

4. We will have some cold weather (cold for Florida at least) in two months or so. Will the plants, and any fruit they are bearing, survive a freeze?

Thanks in advance

Bill

Comments (3)

• bcfromfl
    17 years ago

Hi Bill --

I'm in the Panhandle and have much cooler weather to deal with, but yes, if frost is forecasted you'll have to throw a tarp over your banana to make sure the fruit is safe. Six months is a general rule-of-thumb, but cooler weather may stall the fruit maturation a bit. You'll start to notice a slight color change from bright green to a yellowish-green, and the "corners" of the fruit will become less obvious as they plumpen.

No rush to cut the mother stem after harvesting, and there may be some benefit to allow the mat to absorb some of the moisture and minerals before chopping it down. You'll be able to tell when to do it -- the trunk will start to shrivel and dry out in the outer layers. Be careful not to damage the pups in the process, because you'll have to hack a bit to get through the trunk. The pups will be your next generation of fruit. Keep only two or three per mother plant, and toss the rest into your compost pile.

Hope this helps.