Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
yellowseven

Coolest Types of Bananas? What are they?

yellowseven
16 years ago

I have been growing bananas for several years now. I'm trying to find 3 - 5 varieties that are "cool" to grow. Just taking a poll here to see what types of Bananas are everyone's favorite. Then, I'll look 'em up and research for the spring. I live in Dallas but I've had real good luck with bananas. Even less hardy ones.

Thanks in advance.

Comments (16)

• pitangadiego
    16 years ago

Misi Luki, Namwah, Praying Hands, Sh3640, Fhia 18, Goldfinger, Mona Lisa, Sweetheart, etc.

• topher2006
    16 years ago

I am sold on the red/green dwarf very pretty

• sandy0225
    16 years ago

I really like the Bordelons. They have a nice shape, grow into a big clump quickly and they overwinter well in my greenhouse. They bloom readily, and I love the burgundy backsides of the leaves.

• sultry_jasmine_nights (Florida-9a-ish)
    16 years ago

Thousand Fingers, Praying Hands, Double Mahoi (but mine doesn't seem to pup much), Zebrina (ornamental-you will never loose this one because it makes a gazillion pups and is pretty), Esente Ventricosum-Maurelli (another pretty one and super easy to grow)

• islandbreeze
    16 years ago

I agree with sultry jasmine, Ensete are very "cool", although not technically a banana, they are in the banana family and their leaves grow long and spear shaped as opposed to a paddle-like actual banana leaf. They get nice red coloration too. I like the red stripe form. They grow super fast. Mine's been in the basement under a grow light since October, and its already grown a foot taller and added on 5 new leaves while inside. I'm hoping for 15 feet by the end of next summer, planted in the ground of course.

• tina_2
    16 years ago

Hey Tommy - How about a pic. You have peaked my interest!
    Thanks -tina_2

• hotzcatz
    16 years ago