Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
threelittlebirds_gw

Banana Plant for My Brother

threelittlebirds
14 years ago

Hello Everyone!

It's my first time on your amazing forum! What a great resource. Ok so here's my questions:

I want to buy my brother a banana plant for Christmas. He has mentioned owing one on several occasions. He lives in Long Beach, CA and I live in Leadville, Colorado. No Banana plants for me at 10,250 feet and I have no experience with them.

1. Which plant would be best? It would most like be planted in a large container on his patio.

2. I have looked at several websites that mail plants and on one they have different ages of plants for sale. I was hoping to buy him the 7 gallon banana plant so that it would be closer to fruiting age . Do these ship well or would I be better off purchasing a younger plant.

Any help that you could give me would be a great help. THanks to everyone!

Comments (4)

• tropicalzone7
    14 years ago

I think dwarf cavendish is the best banana for containers becuase it will fruit in a container. I got mine at a nursur, and have seen some super dwarf cavendish at home depot usually during the summer. You migh want to try ebay. They may be small, or maybe you will see another type of banana on there you like.

I think buying a banana plant almost ready to fruit will be way more expensive than its worth. mne was a 3 gallon for 15 dollars, so a size like that would be pretty ince if you can find one. They probably have them in nursuries in California so if you have a friend or relative (other than your brotehr of course ) whou is willing to look for one, I say go for it, but its going to be almost impossible to find one locally in colorado this time of the year. Most nursies this time of the year are overoaded wit pointsettas!

• jamesmaloy
    14 years ago