Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
chatillion

Another pic of unknown banana

chatillion
16 years ago

Here is another picture of the unknown banana. This is another tree in the same group, but with more and younger fruit. Perhaps this will give a better look at identity.

http://i259.photobucket.com/albums/hh296/selections2/Bananas-2DSCN0006.jpg

Thanks!

CC

p.s. can't figure out how to get pic to show up within the post...so the link will have to do until then.

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:424470}}

Comments (8)

• chatillion
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Here is the first picture--and the previous post--which didn't make it to the forum...don't know how I goofed.

Hello All from SW Louisiana. I'm new to the Banana forum, but have lurked/posted on other GardenWeb forums now and then (it's been a while, though).
    Have a couple of questions. Can someone identify the banana that's shown in the picture? When to pick? Is it ready to eat?
    Many thanks!
    CC

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:424473}}

• hueytlatoani
    16 years ago

That variety looks like Orinoco (or Bluggoe). The yellow ones are definitly getting ripe-Orinoco is best when mostly yellow/partially black (For dessert eating) and earlier, if cooked as a plantain.

• chatillion
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you very much! The fruit is delicious, milder and a bit different than grocery-store bananas, and a bit sweeter. Each is 6.5 inches long and 2 inches thick. I think these plants are the type that garden centers around here sell.
    Would you happen to know what is the variety of the ones found at the grocers'?
    And...just wondering, do all banana plants produce fruit?

And, thank you again. Much appreciated!

• hueytlatoani
    16 years ago