Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maryfaye_tx

Can I grow these from seed?

maryfaye_tx
14 years ago

I am new to banana trees and am thinking about buying some Musa sikkimensis and musella lasiocarpa seeds. Everything I have been reading about germinating these seeds sounds like it might not be a good idea.

Is there a trick to get them to germinate faster than months or years?

Mary

Comments (4)

• insanlyinsane23
    14 years ago

I am interested in someones else's view on this subject as well, I planted Musa velunita on December 2nd in Jiffy seedling mix, Keeping them moist, and warm I haven't seen anything yet, Of course it's only been two weeks (the directions said germination can take between 1 and 4 months). I am hoping they'll be done soon! If you're ordering seeds online, amazon has a nice selection of banana seeds, It's where I purchased Banana seeds.

• john_ny
    14 years ago

I'd advise geting little tissue cultured plants instead. That way, you've got a little plant right from the start - no waiting for anything to germinate.

• tropicallvr
    14 years ago

Musella lasiocarpa need cold stratification(in fridge for a month or so to break dormancy), after that who knows how long.
    Musa sikkimensis needs greatly fluctuating temps(hot to cold), that's hard to reproduce on a heat mat,and they seem easier to sprout outside in spring.
    There are some different types of sikkimensis you can get from seed that have alot more splashes of red than the type that is sold from tissue culture, so that's one plus of growing from seed. My pick is the Musa sikkimensis hybrid 'Daj Giant', awesome looking, faster growing and easier to sprout from seed.

• garyz8bpnw
    7 years ago
    last modified: 7 years ago