Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
coconutmike

musa basjoo

coconutmike
14 years ago

I have been planting musa basjoo in gardens in montreal for 6 years now. It make a beautiful addition to the landscape and seems to come back if I plant it in the proper micro-climate and protect it properly. If not I had one heck of a perennial, A real show-stopper.

Comments (7)

• willy1der
    14 years ago

just curious what your methods of overwintering are???I think Ive over done it but at least they will make it I hope.thanks

• forestelves
    14 years ago

As long as you mulch the plants before winter it will come back every year. I started with 1 musa basjoo and now I have 10 plants all over my front and backyard.

• coconutmike
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Hey Willy in zone 5b we must look for the perfect micro-climate.. If you are very far away from the foundation or in the open facing north you will have to add exta protection and or even a heat cable set to come on at -10 celsius. If you need more info contact me mikejjpage@yahoo.ca. cheers
    coconutmike

• willy1der
    14 years ago

They are about 2ft from the foundation(southwall)surrounded by bags of leaves,leaves filling the centre,then a bag of leaves covering the top,then I have an old blanket over them then 2 tarps and a frame I built that has a sheet of plywood on the roof to direct the snow/rain away,also they are located besides a little pond that doesnt freeze because of a pond de-icer.If this works I will have the courage to put my M. lasiocarpa out there for winter.If all fails I have brought in a few pups to start over!!!I have always grown prickly pear cactus on this wall with no protection and they never show any signs of winter damage so I hope the same for the basjoo!!!Coconutmike,do you save your peusdostems or do they come back from the ground every year??

• sandy0225
    14 years ago