Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
imtoobusy

purple martins vs bees

imtoobusy
19 years ago

We are putting up a purple martin house to control the gnat population and I wonder what affect they might have on a bee population. I had some pollination problems last year and had thought about getting a hive this year. Does anyone have any thoughts on this? Thanks in advance!

Comments (5)

• tarheit
    19 years ago

I have no direct experence myself. Though The Purple Martin Conservation Association says: 'Purple Martins may take an occasional honeybee, but they do not specialize on any type of insect and pose no threat to the viability of nearby hives. '

That said, I think I would position the purple martin house so that it is a far from the beehive as reasonably possible to minimize problems.

Here is a link that might be useful: Purple Martin FAQ

• zeebyrd
    19 years ago

I have been keeping bees for the past 11 years (in MD). I have never had any problems with purple martins, but thought I would post a short note here about sparrows.

Sparrows will hang out near the hives and eat honeybees. I have watched them do this. I was pretty surprised to see them doing it, but had heard of other birds doing it.

I wonder with the number of honeybees vs. purple martins, how much damage could the birds do? I have read that martins do not specialize in any one insect, so honeybees should not face much of a threat.

If you'd like to discuss beekeeping (in MD), I'd be happy to "chat" with you.

• imtoobusy
    Original Author
    19 years ago

Thank you both for your responses. I got a purple martin house for Christmas so I am hoping to be able to attract them this year but it may take a while for them to find the house. Some of the information I have is that the martins like bigger insects that fly at least 10 feet off the ground but they will eat anything else they see.