Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
txnyia1

Swarm Cells

txnyia1
18 years ago

I am new to beekeeping having hived my first two 3 pound colonies in two hive bodies on April 16. My mentor is out of town, and after looking through the books I have as well as sites on the Web, cannot find info on how I should handle the following situation. I am hoping your expertise will provide the guidance I need.

A few days after hiving the bees, we confirmed the queens in each hive were alive. Yesterday, when checking on things again, found that there are what I believe are two swarm cells in the bottom portion of one of the frames in one hive body. The cells were not yet capped, but bees were obviously working in them.

The rest of the frames in that hive looked pretty good to my inexperienced eye. I could see larvae in several cells although I am not sure how old it was. There was also quite a bit of capped cells. The pattern of cell activity seemed good, i.e., there were not empty cells interspersed with filled cells. I never did find the queen, but that is not surprising with my unfocused vision.

I have been feeding the bees with 1:1 sugar water since hiving them. Temperatures have ranged from the 30's at night to the 60's in the day. There are about 3.5 empty frames with Pierco foundation in the hive. There is LOTS of burr comb on at least one of the frames. Is there anything else you need to know to give me advice on what I should do?

Many thanks!

Comments (5)

• pennsylvania_pete
    18 years ago

Three and a half frames. I hope you have an extra super, brcause if there are only three frames left, they are indeed making preparation for swarming. If the queen can lay 400 eggs/day, how many days do you figure before all the cells have eggs? This does not include the nectar/pollen they are bringing in. The queen is probably already getting thin in preparation for flying, this makes her hard to find. The burr comb usually indicates tight quarters (or Carniolian bees).