Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
claytamer

safe removal of bees from walls

claytamer
15 years ago

That pretty much explains it. We have an old farm house and the bees moved in 12 to 15 years ago. They don't really bother us but we'd like to get some honey for the rent payment, so to speak.

The big problem is that last summer in all the heat, we had honey seeping thru on the 1st floor where the wall meets the floor. I assume that some of the comb had melted.

I told my wife we should cut a door into the wall to take some of it out but she's having no part of it. I was just kiding anyway.

What is the best way to remove them with minimal or no damage to the structure? I'd like to try this myself as I want to keep the the hives here on the farm. We have an orchard and veggie garden that need their help. I have zero experience with bees but I've watched others work with them numerous times.

Comments (4)

• Konrad___far_north
    15 years ago

You ask for bee removal but then you want the honey?
    To get the bees out permanently, the wall has to get cut open
    and everything has to come out, most often the queen gets lost
    or killed. Then all has to get sealed so next year bees don't come back.
    If you want to harvest honey, then your idea is good with a door,
    you could take out about 1/3 or half of honey and leave the
    rest for them to survive the winter.

Konrad

• claytamer
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I don't want to lose the bees just move them to a hive if this is possible. I'm willing to take classes or apprentice with an experienced keeper. I don't want to harm the bees, just move them and stop the complaining (if you know what I mean).

I realize what a valuable resource they are, being a healthy wild colony. I'm fine with them staying in the house but I'm getting alot of grief over it. I am willing to take the side off the house if that will increase the chance of saving the colony. I was just hoping there was another way.