Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mcpew

HELP! Is anyone out there?

mcpew
15 years ago

I just purchased three honeybee colonies four days ago and already they are colonating outside the hive. We gave them food the first day and it had drained completely out by the following morning. What is going on inside and how can I fix it and save my colonies? Please help me, I am new at this and don't want to lose my bees.

Comments (14)

• beegood_gw
    15 years ago

If it's very warm out they often go outside the hive. At least mine do. They cool off plus all the wing movement will help cool off the inside of the hive.

• mcpew
    Original Author
    15 years ago

That could be it. It reached 85 today. I need to move them again so they can get more shade. Do you know if I can move them to another area on my property or do I need to take them the minimum 3 miles away?

• tonybeeguy
    15 years ago

It's called bearding. Bees will do it when it's hot or if they are getting crowded. There are a lot of questions, like: When you say you purchased three colonies, do you mean package bees or established hives? What do you have them in(how many hive bodies and what size) Did you feed them 1/1 sugar syrup? Are they on new foundation or already drawn out combs? Is there good air flow for ventilation in the hive? Do you have screened bottom boards? Give us some more details and be as specific as you can, and we can go from there.

• tonybeeguy
    15 years ago

You can move them on your property. Wedge a pc of screen in the entrance after the last of the field bees are home for the night. Use two straps to hold everything together. When you get the hive where you want it, you can pull the screen and put a little grass in the entrance or stick a branch in front of the entrance. In the morning when the bees come out, they will notice something is different and re-orient themselves. You get some stragglers showing up at the old location, but within a day or two you should be all set.