Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
awayinthegarden

Painting Hive

awayinthegarden
13 years ago

I am new to bee keeping and am taking classes etc. and will have my first hive at the beginning of May. I want to paint my hives so they will blend in with the background plants- bright white seems too stark, but I realize this helps in summer to keep bees cool. I am thinking of painting the hive light green streaks or a leaf pattern or does the hive need to be solid for some reason? I will keep the hives white if it's best for the bees. Many Thanks!

Comments (7)

• Konrad___far_north
    13 years ago

I don't think it will matter much what color or pattern you paint your hive in a city yard, ...usually not hit by the sun all day long. Still, keep the hive in a sunnier spot, this will lessen the mold issue in hive. In link is a thread on painting. Regarding your dog, time will tell, I had some bees in my backyard with dog and wasn't a problem.
    What you could do if it doesn't work out, build a wall with sheets of plywood about 5' tall on the entrance side, bees will have to take more a vertical approach to your hive. Not sure which side you are facing, you can try first without a wall by facing the entrance 180degree away from the dog walk...which could be north or any other direction, preferred facing is south, but that might not be possible in you yard?

Here is a link that might be useful: Color

• awayinthegarden
    Original Author
    13 years ago