Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lisette1_gw

A lizard in my hive

lisette1
15 years ago

So I am new to beekeeping. I have a lizard living in my new (3wks) hive. How many bees can this guy eat? Is he likely to eat my queen. How do I get rid of him? These are really gentle bees and they just crawl over Mr. Lizard as he suns on my bottom board.

Comments (6)

• txbeeguy
    15 years ago

I think you ought to post a picture! :-)

• teryaki
    15 years ago

"How do I get rid of him?"

Air rifle would do it.

I want to see this cheeky lizard too! No idea how many bees he could eat without seeing him! About how big?

• lisette1
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I am doing a relocation program for all lizards caught on the hive - sort of like a bear thing only tiny. The air gun is not out of the question. The lizard in the hive is very small and fast.
    The weekend was tragic. My dad is a "retired" beekeeper so he came to help me with my 4th week inspection. We pull a frame and it is the most glorious completely cap thing I could imagine. In the next moment the whole thing fell away from the frame and onto the ground. It looked exactly like the frame except it was fully capped on both sides ... nothing about this in the book! For some reason the bees had not built on the foundation but in front of it. I think it was newbee(me)error and a bad frame. Anyway we gently sandwiched it between two frames and put it back. Do you think it will work? I spent the weekend watching my girls bring out their dead.
    By the way I have a source for very nice bees - all that drama and not one sting.

• txbeeguy
    15 years ago

Humm...you must be using some of that "plastic" foundation if you're describing a problem like that! (Even IF it's coated with beeswax). You don't tend to run into problems like that if you're using regular crip wire foundation. Now tell me; what are you using??? ....and tell me another thing: are we gona get to see that lizard sunbathing??

• tonybeeguy